Submitted by admin on Sat, 11/25/2017 - 09:18

The Legal Department is the policy arm of the Directorate for Ethics and Integrity. Its main objective is to strengthen the Legal and Policy framework to fight corruption and rebuild ethics and integrity in Uganda. With regard to the coordination role, the Legal department is responsible for tracking the enforcement of anti- corruption policy and laws. This exercise is expected to ensure compliance and to enable the identification of challenges that law enforcement agencies face during enforcement and, also a mechanism to identify lacuna in the existing law and, new and emerging issues in the fight against corruption that would require new legislation.

Functions of the Department

  • To Provide legal counsel to the directorate on matters related to the fight against corruption and ensuring ethical governance
  • To review existing anti- corruption legislation and policy, with a view to proposing ammendments
  • To identify new and emerging issues in the fight against corruption and develop new legislation or measures to address the same
  • To ensure compliance with anti- corruption laws and policy by monitoring their implementation
  • Ensuring that Uganda's legal and policy frame work is in harmony with international anti- corruption legal instruments
  • To monitor Uganda's compliance with international legal instruments by undertaking periodic self- assessments and reporting.
  • To widely disseminate anti- corruption laws and policy to the public

Staff Establishment

The Legal department is headed by the Commissioner Legal Services, Mrs. Ruth Olijo Namirembe. The structure of the department is as follows:

  • Director Legal Service
  • Commissioner Legal Services
  • Principal Legal Offficer
  • Senior Legal Officer
  • Legal Officers (2)


  1. Review and ammendment of the Leadership Code Act 2002
  2. Popularization of anti corruption laws
  3. Training of law enforcement officers and Civil Society on effective implementation of anti corruption laws
  4. Enactment of the Procceds of Corruption Act
  5. Enactment of the Anti Pornography Act 2014
  6. Enactment of the Anti Homosexuality Bill 2010
  7. Enactment of the Quitam law
  8. Enactment of the International Mutual Assistance Legislation